Earbuds Above Ears

Guess who’s back in the cubicle? This kid. Can I say kid? I certainly feel like a kid but this a real-life, full time grown-up person job. What a terrifying thought. I’ll have to have an existential crisis about that later. Regardless I’m back in the good ol’ cubicle (which is itself stupendous) and I’m once again discovering the stupendousness that comes so easily in a new environment.

IMG_0071

Sneaky work picture is sneaky

Today it’s earbuds above ears. That’s right, not earbuds in my ears but earbuds above my ears. Welcome to the future! Cubicles mean the clickity-clack of multiple keyboards and the ting click of mouse buttons at all hours of the day. Stupendous, no problem. However, in this case it also means the rock-punk-cacophony of noise that’s apparently music coming from the desk just beyond the thin fabric wall. I can’t blame the man, either he’s blowing out his eardrums with the loudest headphone music ever or he, like me, doesn’t want music blasting directing into his ears all day and slowing blowing out his eardrums.

Cue earbuds above the ears. Rather than slide the music playing part into my ear, I perch it in the convenient groove between my upper ear cartilage and skin covered cranium. Sneaky work picture is sneaky. Shockingly you can keep the volume really low and still hear all your tunage and none of the cacophony of noise music.

Other stupendous features of earbuds above ears. No direct ear assault = healthy eardrum = no buzzing noise. If you get the cord caught on something there’s no evil moment of pain as your ears are nearly ripped from your head. Proper hair alignment keeps it hidden. Alternative hair alignment reveals earbuds above ears and is an EXCELLENT conversation starter. No-one else can hear it. I tested this one extensively throughout the cubicle. Finally, you can still hear your colleagues calling for you/walking up behind you, thereby avoiding being terrified by people who walk like ninjas and tap you on the shoulder.

You've probably got words to say. I'd encourage you to do so.

